[Hong Kong] Limewood

A little background:  Limewood is a mix of  South East Asian, Hawaiian, South American and Caribbean flavors centered around barbequed seafood, meats and great refreshing cocktails. In many ways it’s a Californian experience.

My visit:  I have been dying to come here as I’ve read many good reviews online but I was always dreading the commute to Repulse Bay.  So when I found out that there was a JR exhibition being held at The Pulse, I thought that would be perfect.  Two birds with one stone.

It was Friday night and our reservation was at 9:00pm so the restaurant was packed.  The servers were very helpful and had good knowledge of the menu.  There were many dishes that we wanted to try however we had our hearts set on the beef ribs. We were told that the ribs were very large in portion, good enough for four people.  Since there were only two of us we decided to go for it anyway and just order one appetizer.

IMG_4525
Jerked coconut corn

For our appetizer, we went with the jerked coconut corn.  The sweet corn smothered in sriracha mayo and toasted coconut bits was a match made in heaven.  By the time I was done savaging this dish, I had sauce all over my face and clothes!

IMG_4526
48-hour charred beef ribs

Next came the 24-hour charred beef ribs.  O-M-G!  The ribs were perfectly tender and mouth watering.  The charring of the meat gave it a nice crispy exterior and a hint of smokiness.  The mango infused BBQ sauce struck a good flavor balance.  To be honest… there was no elegant way of eating this!  So if you are planning on coming here for a date, avoid ordering the ribs unless you are shameless like me and don’t mind if  your best face involves a display of your whole dish on it!

Verdict:  Overall, I really enjoyed my meal here at Limewood.  I would definitely come back to try their other dishes.  The prices here can be a little high but if you factor in the stunning view of the beach, the great ambiance and the delicious food, I think it’s worth the trip!

 

Happy eating 🙂


Limewood

Shop 103&104, G/F, The Pulse, 28 Beach Road, Repulse Bay

Leave a Reply

