[Hong Kong] Pho Bar

My visit:  I’ve been hearing a lot of raves about Pho Bar so I decided to pay a visit as I’ve been longing for an authentic bowl of Viet noodles.

image1 (3)
Medium Rare Beef Pho

I ordered the medium rare beef pho.  The beef was tender and the flat noodles were of good quality and chewy.  The beansprouts were fresh and crunchy and the thai basil was sharp.  But we all know that one must judge a bowl of pho by its broth.  The broth at Pho Bar was dark in color.  It was rich in beef flavor however it lacked complexity and fragrance.

Verdict:   Overall, I thought the pho here was okay.  You can definitely taste the long hours of simmering in the broth.  However, I do prefer my pho in a crystal clear broth with a balance of rich beef stock, savoury-sweetness, and a hint of cinnamon.  Pho bar’s noodle soup is definitely different from what other Vietnamese restaurants has to offer yet it’s far from being authentic either. Sadly… my search for a traditional bowl of pho continues…

 

Happy eating 🙂

 

Pho Bar
G/F, 24 Li Yuen Street West, Central

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. lolleroll says:

    Hey there! I really enjoyed a number of your restaurant reviews. Have you tried Bun Cha’s beef pho? It’s run by all Vietnamese peeps and I felt it was quite authentic. But I didn’t try too many when in Vietnam – so let me know what you think!

    Like

    1. simplyb313 says:

      Thank you so much for your support! Means a lot to me considering how new I am to this and I have always been skeptical about my writing style. Yea I tried out Bun Cha few weeks ago and its definitely the most authentic bowl of pho I’ve had in HK. The broth is packed with so much flavor and I loved the underlying earthiness bought on by the long simmering of the bones. I have been seeing a lot of posts about Brass Spoon lately.. thinking of trying – have you ever been?

      Like

      1. lolleroll says:

        I haven’t been to brass spoons but I heard it wasn’t very good (that’s why). There’s another new one called Le Pho which is pretty yum I think!

        Like

      2. simplyb313 says:

        Ohhh I am definitely going to check Le Pho out! Just check your website out.. it looks amazing and your content is fantastic! I am such an amateur lol

        Like

Leave a Reply

